Portrait of a Christian

christian2

What does a Christian look like, I pondered?
Of what nationality is he, I wondered?
Is he tall or short, slim or fat?
Then I learnt, he is a man like Christ
A man favoured by divinity
A man with whom there is no impossibility
Free of hate and full of love
Void of pride; an emblem of humility
Peace personified
But I’ve heard, I’m just a dreamer
That no man can be absolutely spotless
That it’s just an idea meant to provide a sense of worth
So this is my resolve
If Christianity is an illusion then I don’t want to be right
If it is a fantasy, then I don’t want reality
If it’s a lie then I wonder what’s true
For how could I have found so much Joy, peace and fulfillment in a fallacy?
I’m a Christian, that’s what I’m meant to be
Who are you?

 

© Sawndei 2017

 

 

6 thoughts on “Portrait of a Christian

  1. What does a Christian look like, I pondered?
    Of what nationality is she, I wondered?
    Is she tall or short, slim or fat?
    Then I learnt, she is a woman like Christ
    A woman favoured by divinity
    A woman with whom there is no impossibility
    Free of hate and full of love
    Void of pride; an emblem of humility
    Peace personified
    But I’ve heard, I’m just a dreamer
    That no woman can be absolutely spotless
    That it’s just an idea meant to provide a sense of worth
    So this is my resolve
    If Christianity is an illusion then I don’t want to be right
    If it is a fantasy, then I don’t want reality
    If it’s a lie then I wonder what’s true
    For how could I have found so much Joy, peace and fulfillment in a fallacy?
    I’m a Christian, that’s what I’m meant to be
    Who are you?

    Sorry, I get confused by “he” meaning “she” and “man” meaning “woman.”

  2. I’d say you’ve covered many of the important aspects. Personally, I cozy up to the idea that Jesus was love, so I also live my life as if love is all there is. Xcellent post!

Leave a Reply

